Picture a Day #23 – Playing Around with Collage!

A few years ago, I took a couple of printmaking classes. It was a lot of work, and great fun! However, there always seemed to be leftover ink (oops!), and I didn’t want to waste it. So I ran my plates through the press until the ink was used up, and saved the papers with random patterns, thinking that one day I might use them for collage.

Well, that day has arrived! I wanted to use the same still life items I already used for watercolor as the subject matter for my collage, and then compare my results. Well, I used some pears, an apple, and a couple of tangerines. Close enough.

When I did my student teaching a couple of ages ago, my main placement was in Kindergarten. We read Eric Carle’s “The Very Hungry Caterpillar.” I was impressed with his artwork. My still life collage has already been influenced by that experience.  Here is my literal “drawing board.” This is going to be a lot of fun!

I’m thinking I really should make them dance in a video for YouTube. I haven’t done anything like that since high school, and back then it was super 8 film…guess the technology has changed just a bit…it might be time to try out the Flip camera I have lying around here somewhere…

About joanienaz

This is where I share my creative self.
This entry was posted in art, DIY, picture a day and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment