Seedlings!

20170401_071908-01

Who doesn’t love planting seeds? Two weeks ago I planted the first seeds of the season, and put them in the dining room where I am fortunate to have a large south facing window. Several days later, they began to sprout. First came the hollyhocks, an old-fashioned flower from my childhood that I hope will attract pollinators. Next the tomatoes and onions came up, followed by the leeks.

Today I planted the last of the seeds that I am starting indoors: zinnias, marigolds, and basil. I hope to begin planting seeds outside in the garden beds in the next few days, before the next storm. The soil has warmed up, but it is still damp from the rain we had last week, so I may have to wait. This time of year the weather is so unpredictable. Two years ago it snowed around this time.

As I am impatient to get my garden started, I will probably take a chance with some of my seeds and plant a bit early. Then I will plant more later. I am looking forward to my summer garden!

 

About Joan Marie Naszady

I am a learner, a teacher, and a naturalist who enjoys being creative!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

