Northern Flicker, Western Version

The weather has been so mild this week here in Northern California, I’m beginning to get Spring Fever. Although it might just be a virus. I found this draft of a post from last May, and thought I might as well finish it.

flicker in pine

In California, the Northern Flicker is represented by the red-shafted version of this species. They are easy to hear when you happen to be in their vicinity, but are not always visible. I have seen them feeding on the ground, but recently I stood near a stand of pines where I heard one calling, and waited until it flew out and over my head. It landed on a branch with its back to me, and then turned a bit to pose.

flicker

About Joan Marie Naszady

I am a learner, a teacher, and a naturalist who enjoys being creative!
This entry was posted in nature, photography and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

