California Snow

December snow GV

If you grew up in suburban California, snow in your yard was something that happened once in a blue moon. An inch of fluffy white stuff was scraped into tiny snowballs and hurled at siblings before it all melted away and the temperature went back to normal. More often the hills surrounding the populated valleys were adorned with white crowns once or twice during the winter.

The first time I lived at a higher elevation, I was thrilled with several inches of snow. Trying to stay warm was a challenge, but I was young and the weather was a novelty. Snow was pretty to watch as it fell in fluffy white flakes, and it crunched under my feet when I tromped through it just for fun.

So many people think of snow-covered mountains as an amusement park. They drive to the ski resorts in the winter to ski and snowboard. It’s easy to forget. when you live somewhere with such a variety of climates, that many people must live with the negative effects of the weather for months every year.

My husband grew up on Long Island, where snow is something that stays around long enough to get dirty, and is an obstacle to everyday life during the winter months. He doesn’t care to recreate in the snow. He would rather stay warm and dry.

I am not a skier, although I have tried my skills on the slopes. I prefer to stomp around and take pictures, and watch frozen precipitation fall from a wintry sky. Even if it doesn’t stick.

About Joan Marie Naszady

I am a learner, a teacher, and a naturalist who enjoys being creative!
This entry was posted in home, nature, photography and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

