A Royal Mob

Kingbird and Raven 2

It only takes two to create a royal mob, at least when the mob consists of a pair of Western Kingbirds. This was the sight I enjoyed while strolling in a local park near our cabin in the Sierra foothills a week ago. Since spotting a Kingbird during a road trip through the Sacramento Valley last month, I keep seeing them in the valley and the foothills. They are fascinating.

Kingbird 3

After admiring this flycatcher near the edge of a large grassy area, I discovered the pair dive bombing a raven perched in the top of a sprawling oak tree. They took turns swooping around the larger bird, flaring their crimson crowns and perching nearby. Eventually the raven left, no doubt bored with their antics.

Kingbird aand Raven 1

Kingbird 1

About Joan Marie Naszady

I am a learner, a teacher, and a naturalist who enjoys being creative!
This entry was posted in nature, photography and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Royal Mob

  1. Carol King says:

    I like your bird photos. I didn’t know that two western kingbirds make a royal mob. (I also didn’t know what a western kingbird was, but I do now.)

    • J M Naszady says:

      I suppose that two birds does not a mob make, but they were “mobbing,” or harassing a larger bird, most likely to defend their nest area, so I took the liberty!

Leave a Reply

