The Daily Writing Habit

frosty amThe weather has begun to change here in the Northern California foothills, from the frosty days of the past week or two to sunny skies and warmer temperatures. As my brain has thawed, I have been getting back to my writing. New Year’s resolutions sound good at the end of December, but by the middle of January the guilt arrives.

I chose so many resolutions for 2013 some of them are bound to be kept. Sam and I have been taking afternoon walks. I have given up chocolate (except for that one cup of hot cocoa). I read the first eleven chapters of Les Miserables (only 354 left to go).

But the novel I began writing last November, during National Novel Writing Month, remains untouched since the end of that month. Instead of finishing it, I have begun another. I came up with the idea when I was looking at something online having to do with technology in education, and began thinking about a science fiction plot.

So far I have three pages. Sometimes that’s all it takes to get the creative juices flowing again. Another cup of hot cocoa wouldn’t hurt, either.

About Joan Marie Naszady

I am a learner, a teacher, and a naturalist who enjoys being creative!
This entry was posted in DIY, nature, photography, reading, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

