Picture a Day #353 – My Resolutions and a Painting

Here it is: my last Picture a Day of the year. Although I did not make it to #366, I came pretty darn close. If I hadn’t lost Internet recently, and hadn’t moved, etc…perhaps I would have completed my goal for the year.

I am already hard at work on my resolutions for 2013. First of all, inspired by the movie I saw two nights ago, I have ordered a FREE copy of Les Miserables for my Kindle. I plan to read it in the new year. I understand that there are 365 chapters, so if I can read a chapter a day, I should be able to finish it in the next twelve months. Who would like to read it along with me, and have a weekly online Book Talk? Anyone out there interested? Feel free to join in at any time. I will be posting my thoughts as I read right here!

On to my next resolution. I haven’t been painting lately. The inspiration left, and I have spent weeks searching for a new topic to explore. Today I began a piece, tentatively titled Paper or Plastic. So far I think it looks like a cluster of bundled street people from Les Miserables…we’ll see where I go from here with my collage.

Paper or Plastic 1

I began with a canvas and acrylic paints. I mixed Alizarin Crimson, Cadmium Yellow Light, and White to cover the canvas. Then I collaged a plastic bag, torn open, onto the canvas. Next I plan to add some  pieces of brown paper bag to the ensemble. What do you think?

Happy New Year to one and all. May your projects bring you joy in the months ahead!

About Joan Marie Naszady

I am a learner, a teacher, and a naturalist who enjoys being creative!
This entry was posted in art, photography, picture a day and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

