Picture a Day #271 – Predator

While I was watering the vegetable garden early this morning, I happened to notice a treefrog on the zucchini plant. After I left and returned with my camera, I realized that the frog was locked in a death grip with a praying mantis.

I didn’t get a shot of the struggle, but the frog apparently freed itself and disappeared. I saw it jump. After the light changed I got these detailed photos of the predator. It spent some time cleaning up after its meal. Pretty scary looking.

The praying mantis feeds mostly on insects, but will try larger critters as well (especially if it is a female preparing eggs). Hard to imagine if you haven’t seen it happen!

About Joan Marie Naszady

I am a learner, a teacher, and a naturalist who enjoys being creative!
This entry was posted in nature, photography, picture a day and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

