Picture a Day #230 – Painting Triangles Inside Rectangles

This is my first double post day (although I did post twice on the 18th because I posted around midnight). I am attempting to “catch up” with myself in order to reach 366 posts by the end of the year. Now I am only behind 9 posts!

The other day, I used a painting by the Abstract Expressionist Wassily Kandinsky to inspire me. I did a study with geometric shapes, in preparation for the subject of today’s post. I wanted to use geometric figures in a somewhat organic way, and as I worked yesterday my concept unfolded. Here is the beginning of my project.

I drew a grid of 24 rectangles with pencil on Arches hot press watercolor paper. Then I painted in the rectangles with primary colors. I used Cobalt Blue, Ultramarine, Cadmium Yellow and Cadmium Yellow Pale Hue, and Alizarin Crimson. I did not use a set pattern, but there is already some repetition besides the rectangular tiles.

Next I created triangles and secondary colors by overlapping crimson on blue and yellow. I added more repetition of shapes and colors. At this point I was “flying by the seat of my pants,” and having a lot of fun!

About Joan Marie Naszady

I am a learner, a teacher, and a naturalist who enjoys being creative!
This entry was posted in art, DIY, history, picture a day and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

