Picture a Day #223 – Expressing Myself

I haven’t had much time lately to paint, so this morning I sketched out an idea that has been tumbling around in my brain for a while. Then I drew and painted!

I have a print of this work by Wassily Kandinsky, the Russian abstract Expressionist artist, which I very much enjoy. I have wanted to try something like it, and today I made my first attempt.

It’s a study for a larger piece. I did this drawing using a grid of six rectangles, which I erased. Then I sketched the figures seen here with a Tuscan Red Prismacolor pencil, based on my fuzzy memory of Kandinsky’s piece.

I can see that I need to loosen up a bit. My version is unique, but I hope it contains some of the elements of the master.

About Joan Marie Naszady

I am a learner, a teacher, and a naturalist who enjoys being creative!
This entry was posted in art, DIY, history, picture a day and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

