Picture a Day #182-Two Views of a Pitcher with Fruit

Before I resumed work on the still life that I set up, drew, and photographed recently, which includes a pitcher that I recycled into a planter, I began another piece. I am using the hot press Arches watercolor  paper that I recently purchased for both of my projects.

My second project is a painting using soft pastel pencils. I am even less experienced with these than I am with watercolors. This is an opportunity for me to experiment with different media using the same subject matter. I hope the fruit holds up a bit longer!

The pitcher in my piece using pastels turned out narrower, and the fruit seems to be a bit smaller. I also used a different view of my subject. I may make other changes before I complete this, but the basic composition is my starting point for each project.

Next I began to add paint to my original pitcher  with fruit drawing. I did some research, and discovered that watercolors on the hot press paper, which is smoother than the cold press I have been using, should appear brighter. I am using new watercolors for this painting, which are a different brand and professional quality. I already notice how bright the paint appears. This first layer is Cadmium Yellow Pale.

I will most likely bounce back and forth between these two paintings, using one to inform the other. I can’t wait to see how they turn out!

About Joan Marie Naszady

I am a learner, a teacher, and a naturalist who enjoys being creative!
This entry was posted in art, DIY, picture a day and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

