Picture a Day #171 – In My June Garden

I worked in my garden most of the morning today. Then I was back out again after dinner. I harvested lettuce, cilantro, and radishes. I thinned and transplanted tomatoes. I supported squash, watered…you get the idea! The pole beans are climbing up the corn, right on cue.

I probably need to fertilize, but I planted more seeds. Things seem to be going well since the weather warmed up again. I put tomato cages on my squash plants (and my tomato plants as well), something that I saw online last year. You train them up, and it saves space in a crowded garden (like mine). It also helps to keep the leaves dry (since squash leaves tend to mildew).

Can’t wait to see more flowers! So far the marigolds, alyssum, and nasturtiums are blooming, and the sunflowers are on their way.

Speaking of sunflowers, that was the mystery plant that came up on the squash mound. Duh. Incredible how much growing has been going on this month!

About Joan Marie Naszady

I am a learner, a teacher, and a naturalist who enjoys being creative!
This entry was posted in DIY, home, nature, picture a day and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

