Picture a Day #165 – A Sea of Pods

I still don’t know why the maple seed pods attracted my attention so thoroughly this year. I’m sure I’ve seen them before, but not really paid much attention. Why now? Maybe the bumper crop we have.

They’re still hanging around, lining the depression below the downspout from the roof, frayed edges poking out of the soil here and there, little piles scattered on the unswept patio. Tsk,tsk! I have a collection in a shallow dish. I drew them. I photographed them in a swirl.

Then I finally started a watercolor painting.

First I drew some with a Goldenrod Prismacolor pencil.

Then I began carefully layering my colors. First I used Cobalt Blue for the background.

Cadmium Yellow Pale Hue was next.

Permanent Rose provides some shading. I will add some more layers soon! I am heading out of town today for a family event.

About Joan Marie Naszady

I am a learner, a teacher, and a naturalist who enjoys being creative!
This entry was posted in art, DIY, nature, picture a day and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

