Picture a Day # 163 – En Plein Air

Before I show you my watercolor painting of a rose that I painted on my back patio “en plein air,” I have exciting news! Another one of my 6x6x2012 entries has sold! It’s nice to know that someone enjoyed looking at it enough to make a purchase. Even though the money didn’t go to me, it goes to support an awesome art center. Let’s hear it for the total art experience!

On to the rose. I was thinking about Bette Midler’s song and heard her singing it in my head while I painted. I love this version sung with Wynonna Judd. It gives me goosebumps!

I drew the first rose of the season last week. I think it was on the same bush as the last rose, that I finally finished in January.

The wind was blowing when I decided to draw this, but as it was already in full bloom, I didn’t want to wait.

As it turned out, by the time I was finished with my painting a couple of days later, the wind got worse. So I was fortunate to only have to adjust to an occasional gusty breeze.

I used Pink and Apple Green Prismacolor pencils for my drawing. Then I used Permanent Rose and Cadmium Yellow Pale Hue watercolors. Next time, I will show you my third color, and how the final painting turned out!

About Joan Marie Naszady

I am a learner, a teacher, and a naturalist who enjoys being creative!
This entry was posted in art, DIY, home, nature, picture a day and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Picture a Day # 163 – En Plein Air

  1. Denny says:

    This is beautiful! You’ve really captured something in your drawing. I’m very impressed. Thanks for sharing your process.

  2. Cathy G says:

    I enjoyed watching this porgression. Congratulations on your work being sold!

Leave a Reply

