Picture a Day #160 – Layered Design

My supply of watercolor paper is dwindling. I have painted a lot in the last four months! while I wait for my order of new paper and paints to arrive, I decided to try some smaller artwork. I divided one sheet of paper into four 8×10 pieces. Then I began to experiment again with abstract layers of watercolor.

This time I used Cadmium Yellow Pale Hue for my first layer, using one of my new wash brushes. Next I added Cobalt Blue.

My third color is Permanent Rose.

I layered these colors several times in different ways, leaving a little white on the page, to get a multitude of variations.

Here is my completed piece. I would like to cover an entire wall with this pattern!

About Joan Marie Naszady

I am a learner, a teacher, and a naturalist who enjoys being creative!
This entry was posted in art, DIY, picture a day and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

