Picture a Day #157 – Drops of Color

I am blown away by all of the amazing photography that I have discovered on this site. Yesterday the drops of color caught my eye. I decided to try to re-create (in spirit only, NOT in technical expertise) to some extent the photography with drops of water.

I didn’t look back to the post that I saw before starting my project. I tried to remember what I had read >_<. I set up a somewhat ridiculous array of objects in order to create a raised platform. Then I put a Prismacolor pencil drawing from a couple of years ago of circles that have the colors of the rainbow on top of my platform.

I set up my camera on the tripod, and grabbed a couple of table lamps. I am not equipped to do this kind of photography, but I decided not to let that stop me! I wanted to find out what I could do with my limited resources and my imagination. They usually take me where I want to go. Here are my results.

First I placed the glass from a picture frame on top of my drawing. I put drops of water onto the glass with a watercolor brush. There needed to be some space between the paper and the water drops though, so next I put the glass on top of the picture frame and then on top of the paper. There still wasn’t enough distance between the glass and the paper.

Here is what happened when I placed a smaller piece of glass on top of a roll of packing tape, and then added a blob of water. Interesting, but not exactly what I was expecting.

After placing the piece of glass with the water drops on top of three rolls of tape, almost 5 inches above the paper, I got these results.Ta da! Notice how the colors are flipped in the blobs of water.

I reviewed the procedures followed by the photographer I was trying to imitate, and he used a spray bottle for the water drops. I think maybe I’ll try this again. What fun!

About Joan Marie Naszady

I am a learner, a teacher, and a naturalist who enjoys being creative!
This entry was posted in art, DIY, picture a day and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Picture a Day #157 – Drops of Color

  1. Pingback: Tábori impressziók, avagy hogyan olvadjunk fel egy idillben | nokredit magazin

Leave a Reply

