Picture a Day #141 – Fresh Early Veggies

It takes patience and faith to tend an organic garden with late-maturing vegetables. This year I planted corn and green beans, along with the usual squash and tomatoes. I crowded a number of other veggies into my container garden as well. I am glad that my lettuce and radishes are ready to eat now!

three kinds of greens!

I like to pick baby lettuce leaves, and the plants will keep on producing for weeks, as long as I fertilize them. Right now I have five different kinds of greens ready to eat, not counting my cilantro, which I have already nibbled. I also have radishes that need to be eaten before the critters get to them. One of my barrels had a little insect damage to the larger ones.

radishes with a bite!

So while I’m chowing down on designer salad with fresh baby greens and radishes, my other plants can take their sweet time. It’s going to be awhile. But that’s OK!

five kinds of greens!

About Joan Marie Naszady

I am a learner, a teacher, and a naturalist who enjoys being creative!
This entry was posted in DIY, home, nature, picture a day and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Picture a Day #141 – Fresh Early Veggies

  1. Cathy G says:

    What great pictures – and it all looks so yummy! 🙂

Leave a Reply

