Picture a Day #140 – Pod Invasion

This year a bumper crop of maple seed pods has landed in our yard. We have no maple trees ourselves, although I am definitely a fan of many different types of trees. I believe the pods are blowing into our yard from next door.

It’s been so windy that these marvelously adapted projectiles are all over the neighborhood. What the wind doesn’t disperse, the neighbors’ leaf blowers send in our direction. The seeds all seem to land in our yard. Maybe some of them will sprout.

I believe that these particular ones are from a Japanese maple. When I looked them up online, I discovered that these rather large seeds are the subject of two and three-dimensional art. I found numerous photos, drawings, earrings, and other jewelry!

I think they are fascinating. So I took a picture of one (not very representational of their numbers), and I drew several with Prismacolor pencil on bristol vellum. Fun!

About Joan Marie Naszady

I am a learner, a teacher, and a naturalist who enjoys being creative!
This entry was posted in art, DIY, home, nature, picture a day and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Picture a Day #140 – Pod Invasion

  1. My neighborhood has been invaded by these too! I stashed a few in a pot I was growing basil in already and 2 of them sprouted. Free trees. 🙂

  2. knieling2012 says:

    I remember once gathering up a bushel basket full of these seeds and then going up to the second floor window of my parents room and pouring them out to flying once more…wish I had been brave enough to find a higher spot…like your subject matter…push your limits and draw more of them.

    • J M Naszady says:

      Thanks, I think I will! It’s fun to watch them spiral downward…makes me think they inspired some children’s toys.

Leave a Reply

