Picture a Day #139 – My Veggie Garden, Week Four

It has been four weeks today since I planted my container garden, and a few days less since I planted my raised bed garden. My results have been fairly good so far. This week I tasted the radishes and baby lettuce from the containers. Yum! Today I planted more seeds, to make up for some gaps. I  have plants in all stages of development: some just sprouting, others easy to identify and growing fast, and some ready to eat.

I think some snails or slugs have been nibbling on my pole beans. A couple of sprouts disappeared, and I saw the shiny trails. But enough have survived, and are looking pretty healthy next to their corn companions.

My strategy in the containers is to fill them up. I like to eat small, tender veggies. In the larger garden I have a few rows, but things are pretty scattered so far. I will have to do a little more filling in there. The carrots in that garden did not come up, so I replanted the carrot row today. The sunflowers did not come up either, so I transplanted several, and only one survived. I have more to transplant, though!

Every year is experimental in one way or another. This year I am growing my first herb, Cilantro (aka Coriander). I picked several leaves for an omelette today. It was very fragrant, and delicious!

About Joan Marie Naszady

I am a learner, a teacher, and a naturalist who enjoys being creative!
This entry was posted in DIY, home, nature, picture a day and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

