Picture a Day #136 – The Power of Watercolor

I sat down to work on my latest watercolor painting, the subject of yesterday’s post, intending to take the next step. Before I knew it, I was hurtling along. I wish I had paused long enough to photograph a couple of in-between steps, but I was inspired and on a roll.

I chose Ultramarine to add to the pears. Then I was ready to paint the bowl red, and I used Permanent Rose. I have been thinking about this for some time, and so I knew what I wanted to do next. I went ahead and added the red shade to the table, so that my pears are greenish, my bowl is rosy, and the table is pale orange.

So why not fill up the page and paint the background pale Ultramarine? This is not finished, as I still need to work on the shadows. But I think it is shaping up!

About Joan Marie Naszady

I am a learner, a teacher, and a naturalist who enjoys being creative!
This entry was posted in art, DIY, picture a day and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

