Picture a Day #113 – Earth Day in My Organic Garden

I planted my container garden the other day with organic vegetable seeds after preparing the soil with an organic container mix. But I’m not resting on my laurels! I am keeping those seedlings moist in the sudden burst of heat we have had this weekend. What a great way to celebrate Earth Day!

Today, after much procrastination and fanfare, I am preparing my raised bed garden. It has been a work in progress for some time. I rebuilt the garden bed with cinder blocks several years ago. Then a variety of events occurred that prevented me from advancing to the next step of my project until I planted bulbs in the border a couple of years ago.

Yesterday I finally purchased (on sale!) enough organic soil mixture to fill the raised bed. Only four more bags to go! I also purchased more seeds, and more mesh wire fencing material to keep out marauding cats, who think our yard is their litter box. Tomorrow is supposed to be cooler and overcast, a good day for planting. Can’t wait to finish!

About Joan Marie Naszady

I am a learner, a teacher, and a naturalist who enjoys being creative!
This entry was posted in DIY, home, nature, picture a day and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

