Picture a Day #111 – Sunny Seedlings

Today was the warmest day we have had since spring officially began. I hardly knew how to act. I put on a pair of shorts. Then I headed for the garden.

I was determined to plant all of my prepped containers today. I prepped them yesterday, and they were calling my name. I even researched companion plants, and drew a diagram of my garden.

Since I am container gardening, I need to maximize the use of my space. I have been trying to garden against a variety of obstacles for years: time, space, priorities, marauding cats…the list goes on. But I am getting closer to a functional garden. I can feel it!

Anyway,  I have planted three half wine barrels and five flower pots with a variety of veggies and flowers. Now I am eyeing an above-ground bed that I built with cinder blocks that hasn’t been planted for a while. It is in serious need of rehabilitation. I guess that’s my next project.

To get myself started, I transplanted the sunflower seedlings that sprouted from last year’s seed heads that I dumped in the unused garden bed, thinking that they weren’t going to develop. What a surprise when the sprouts appeared! I gave some of them to my kids when they were home a couple of weeks ago. Now what to do with the rest? They will get tucked in somewhere, no doubt!

About Joan Marie Naszady

I am a learner, a teacher, and a naturalist who enjoys being creative!
This entry was posted in DIY, home, nature, picture a day and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

