Picture a Day #106 – Penne Rigate

As you may recall from previous posts regarding cooking, I prefer baking to stove top escapades. But we had leftovers to use, and it was my turn. So I assembled my materials and my courage!

My husband does the grocery shopping. It is a game he plays to see how much money he can save, and what he can find that’s a good deal. He is a master at locating mis-marked beef, as he was a butcher in a previous career.

Anyway, to please me, he picked up some whole grain Penne Rigate. We had leftover mozzarella that needed to be used, and a jar of marinara. Here is my creation, which takes about 1 hour to prepare:

Penne Rigate

In a medium skillet, saute 3 cups of veggies (I used 1 medium zucchini, grated, half of a medium red bell pepper, diced, and about six diced mushrooms) in 2 tablespoons olive oil over medium heat until soft, about 5 minutes.

Remove from pan, and brown 3/4 lb lean ground beef with 1 clove garlic, about 10 minutes.

Prepare half of a 13.25 oz box Ronzoni Whole Grain Penne Rigate, about 10 minutes.

Combine the meat and veggies with 1/2 of a 24 oz jar of Marinara Sauce. Let simmer 5 minutes. Drain pasta.

In a 2 quart baking dish, layer sauce, pasta, and grated mozzarella cheese. Suit yourself how you layer, but start with sauce and end with cheese.

Bake covered at 350 degrees F for 40 minutes. Uncover for the last 10 minutes if desired.

This is actually a 1 1/2 quart baking dish, and I used almost a pound of ground beef. So I couldn’t fit all of the pasta. It was a bit meaty and saucy, but tasty! I have adjusted the recipe accordingly. You could also add more veggies and ricotta or ? and leave out the meat. A very versatile dish. Enjoy!

About Joan Marie Naszady

I am a learner, a teacher, and a naturalist who enjoys being creative!
This entry was posted in DIY, home, picture a day and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

