Picture a Day 102 – Felted Wool Bag Step 1

The first thing that I did once I decided to make a bag like the one my daughter brought home with her this week, which you can see here, was photograph, draw, and measure it. Next I knit a test piece and put it through the washer and dryer a couple of times. After that, I decided to change the size of my needles.

Then I knit what will be the bottom of my bag. I used size 9 US (5.5 mm) needles, and medium (4) wool yarn. This piece is 20 stitches across, and has 75 rows. It measures about 6” X 12″. I used two strands of yarn, one Natural Mix and one New Denim, and I wound them together to produce a marled effect. I also used a seed stitch (knit one , purl one, alternating by row).

I think this will be a sturdy bottom for my bag, once it is felted. I left yarn at each end of this piece to attach it to the sides of the bag. Next, I will make the handles for my bag, and then the shoulder strap, using the same yarns and stitch as the bottom piece. I may need to reinforce these with twine, but I will meditate on that!

About Joan Marie Naszady

I am a learner, a teacher, and a naturalist who enjoys being creative!
This entry was posted in art, DIY, picture a day and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Picture a Day 102 – Felted Wool Bag Step 1

  1. Maura says:

    Looks good. Love the color. How much do you think it will shrink upon felting?

    • J M Naszady says:

      I did a test with size 11 needles, and my 3.5″ by 4″ piece ended up 3..25 by 3.75. The finished bottom on my model is 5″ by 10.5 inches. so I expect that I’m in the ballpark. I won’t felt the bottom until after I attach it to the body. This is definitely a test model!

Leave a Reply

