Picture a Day # 93 – The Most Important Meal

I could write an entire cookbook just on the subject of breakfast. It is, after all, the most important meal. I tend to stick with certain breakfast foods for extended periods of time. Why change something that’s working?

For a couple of years, I took banana or zucchini bread to work, as I was always in a hurry in the morning, and had a windy (as in the long and windy road to my job) commute, so breakfast before I left the house wasn’t a good idea. Surprisingly, it took me a while to figure that one out. Why was my stomach knotted up on the drive? Hmm.

Then I began eating a little hot cereal with fruit in the morning. Just the thing during the winter. Especially when you are out the door at an unholy hour.

Occasionally, on the weekends, I like to prepare an egg dish. Again, I tend to stick to something, and try variations on a theme. I discovered that scrambled eggs cooked in the microwave was fast and easy to clean up. Recently, I decided to try a microwave omelette.

I mixed two eggs in a Pyrex glass bowl, and added some basil, a little chopped tomato, some diced avocado, sliced mushrooms, and a little grated mozzarella. I microwaved it for about 2 1/2 to 3 minutes, checking it every minute or so. There is no end to what you can toss into a microwave omelette. It was yummy!

About Joan Marie Naszady

I am a learner, a teacher, and a naturalist who enjoys being creative!
This entry was posted in DIY, home, picture a day and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

