Picture a Day #88 – March Pumpkin

Today I read about a culinary adventure involving a pumpkin scone on this blog. How fortuitous! I have been looking at recipes the last few days, wondering how I will use my leftover pumpkin puree from last week’s baking adventure. Here is the recipe that I adapted. They are pretty healthy as scones go, not too sweet. I have more puree left, so I may continue to experiment.

Pumpkin Raisin Scones

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees F. Lightly oil a cookie sheet. Mix 1 1/2 cups unbleached wheat flour, 1/2 cup whole wheat flour, 2 teaspoons baking powder, 3/4 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice, and 1 tablespoon sugar in a large bowl.

Add 4 tablespoons olive oil, blending evenly with a fork. Add 1/4 cup milk, 1 beaten egg, and 1/2 cup pumpkin puree and blend.

Turn out onto a lightly floured board and knead 1 minute, incorporating 1/2 cup golden raisins.

Pat or roll 3/4 inch thick and cut into wedges. I made 8 scones. Bake about 15 minutes.

I put blackberry preserves on mine. Mmm!

About Joan Marie Naszady

I am a learner, a teacher, and a naturalist who enjoys being creative!
This entry was posted in DIY, home, picture a day and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

