Picture a Day #83 – Oatmeal Cookie Rewind

Two months ago, back in January, I posted a recipe for oatmeal cookie bars. I had gotten creative with it, and now I’ve done it again!

Last week I wanted to make them, and I didn’t have any applesauce, a key ingredient. Rather than head to the store, I decided to use grated apple. With the peel still on.

I tell myself it’s healthier, and makes up for all that sugar. Of course there’s sugar in the apple. But the peel cancels it out, right?

Anyway, I like this recipe so much better, because it has a wonderful apply flavor. I used 1 large grated apple instead of 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce. I also used 1 cup unbleached wheat flour and 1/2 cup whole wheat flour instead of all unbleached flour. I baked them 30 minutes, due to extra moisture.

Those cookie bars are all gone now, and they were yummy!

About Joan Marie Naszady

I am a learner, a teacher, and a naturalist who enjoys being creative!
This entry was posted in DIY, home, picture a day and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

