Picture a Day #78 – Recipe of the Week

Today a new week has begun. Looking back on my frenzy of baking during the rainy weather this past week, I have decided to share the recipe that I liked the best.

This began as a pumpkin bread recipe in my old Fannie Farmer cookbook. The recipes in it are very traditional. I like to start with them, although I have other cookbooks, and then I adjust to suit my frame of mind. The recipe that I ended up with is a cross between zucchini bread and carrot cake. You could even add or substitute coconut and pineapple.

Carrot Zucchini Apple Walnut Mini Loaves

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Combine 3/4 cup unbleached wheat flour, 3/4 cup whole wheat flour, 3/4 cup sugar, and 1 teaspoon baking soda.

Grate 1 medium apple, 1 medium zucchini, and a dozen mini carrots (total of grated ingredients is 2 cups). Add this to the first mixture with 1/2 cup vegetable oil, 2 beaten eggs, 1/2 teaspoon allspice, 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon, 3/4 cup chopped walnuts, and 3/4 cup golden raisins. Mix until just blended.

Bake in four 2 cup Pyrex glass bowls for 45 minutes, or until a knife inserted in center comes out clean. Cool and remove from bowls. Serve warm or refrigerate. This bread freezes well.

About Joan Marie Naszady

I am a learner, a teacher, and a naturalist who enjoys being creative!
This entry was posted in DIY, home, picture a day and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

