Picture a Day #74 – Home Made Pizza!

If I had known I was going to post this today, I would have baked my pizza in a circle. For my Pi Day post check out my other blog!

There are times when my husband and I like to make pizza at home. He likes his one way and I like mine another, so we customize it. Below are my selections: mushrooms, zucchini, and red bell pepper. We use a simple recipe for the dough:

Mix 4 cups flour with 4/3 cups warm water, 1 packet rapid rise dry yeast, and 6 tablespoons olive oil. Kneed the dough for 8-10 minutes, adding flour as desired, until it is consistent. Let it rise in a covered bowl until double in bulk. Roll out the dough with a little extra flour, and it will fit into two 10″ by 15″ jelly roll pans. This will make fairly thin crust pizza.

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees F. Top the dough with your favorite pizza or marinara sauce, mozzarella cheese, and other toppings as desired. Bake for 10-15 minutes, cool slightly. This is also great for a family gathering, with everyone pitching in and sharing the fun of building their own pizza and enjoying the results!

About Joan Marie Naszady

I am a learner, a teacher, and a naturalist who enjoys being creative!
This entry was posted in DIY, home, picture a day and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

