Picture a Day #69 – Still Life of Apples

Today I went back to my still life of apples on a wooden stool to take the next step. I had already added background and foreground shadow since my last post. Next I added Cadmium Yellow watercolor for the Golden Delicious apples and the stool on which they perch. I frequently forget to allow for highlights, so the shading with colored pencil helps to remind me where the light and shadow falls. Also, with watercolor, it’s easy to lift the color with a brush or paper towel while it is still wet.

Next I added Phthalo Blue, which was a good choice. The combination of pigments looked pretty close to the actual color of the real apples, although you may not see it as accurately on your screen. You may have to take my word for it! I have learned the hard way that it is better to use pale colors until the end. The top of the stool is much paler than the  apples, and there is variation on each apple as well.

I put down my brush in the wrong spot on the background and lifted color where I wanted it to stay, so I’m going to have to figure out how to fix it. Stay tuned for the dramatic conclusion of this little project of mine!

About Joan Marie Naszady

I am a learner, a teacher, and a naturalist who enjoys being creative!
This entry was posted in art, DIY, picture a day and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

