Picture a Day #67 – Corners of the Sky

I took another look at my collage that needs shadows this morning, and while I was thinking about that, I prepared these photos of one of my other recent experiments. Here I have taken a corner study and given it a twist. The sky is bursting into the scene.

I’m not really sure what’s next. I could have done things differently, like make the orange part cloudless sky or brilliant sunlight (not quite sure how to paint brilliant sunlight). I am thinking about evening out the  blotchy orange section, and after that, who knows?

I was attempting to portray the conflicts between being in an enclosed area and being in the great expanse of the sky. Here the confined area is kind of exploding. It’s kind of tornadic.

I have never been in a tornado, and it’s not really what I had in mind, but there were terrible ones going on in the midwest while I painted this. Maybe the idea was leaking into my subconscious.

I will think about my corners some more. While I’m ruminating, I may have to paint in those shadows on my collage with acrylic paint. Unless I can manage to procrastinate some more…

About Joan Marie Naszady

I am a learner, a teacher, and a naturalist who enjoys being creative!
This entry was posted in art, DIY, picture a day and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

