Picture a Day #56 – Watercolor Madness

While I was thinking about how to create shadows for the fruit in my last watercolor collage, I decided to play around a little bit. I took a piece of my very special watercolor paper, taped it to a smooth drawing board, and wet it thoroughly with a brush. Then I mixed Alizarin Crimson, Cadmium Yellow, and Cobalt Blue separately with water, filled my brush to the dripping point, and dripped each one onto the wet paper. I added more water with a spray bottle when the page began to dry. Then I tipped my drawing board this way and that, and left it on its side to dry.

Oops. Most of the pigment drained off the page. The next day, I started again with my pastel creation, using the same red and yellow, but switching to Ultramarine. I dripped and drew squiggles. I sprayed more water. I sprinkled salt all over the page.

Then, I mixed Phthalo Blue, Alizarin Crimson, and Cadmium Yellow Pale in different amounts, and drew dark swirling lines all over the page for contrast. I got a little carried away, and thought it might be too dark, so I sprayed more water, dripped, and sprinkled more salt. This time I left it to dry flat. Sometimes I learn from my mistakes!

This morning, I photographed my artwork, and decided to flip it around in Photoshop. I usually do this with something abstract, trying to find an image that speaks to me. Ta da! I found a face. I decided to call this piece “Friday Afternoon.” Anyone who has taught middle school will appreciate the source of my inspiration!

About Joan Marie Naszady

I am a learner, a teacher, and a naturalist who enjoys being creative!
This entry was posted in art, DIY, picture a day and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Picture a Day #56 – Watercolor Madness

  1. Denny says:

    Nice work! Thanks for describing how you achieved the results.

  2. J M Naszady says:

    Thanks, and you’re welcome!

Leave a Reply

