Picture a Day #51 – California Oaks

Much of California is about oak trees. There are so many different trees in this state, I could probably write a post every day for a year (next year’s topic?) and never repeat myself. But this post is about oak trees in general.

There are live oaks and deciduous oaks. There are large oaks and small oaks. This time of the year, before the deciduous oaks have burst forth with their annual foliage, they provide an interesting contrast to the conifers they frequently accompany.

When I am on the coast, I enjoy the many evergreen trees, but when I return inland, I greet my lifelong companions once more, those sturdy acorn-bearers that dot the hills and provide shade for the cattle.

For many years I have claimed the Sugar pine as my all-time favorite tree. But lately I’ve been leaning toward the oak, the one with whom I have shared most of my life. Below is one of my favorite spots in northern Mendocino county.

About Joan Marie Naszady

I am a learner, a teacher, and a naturalist who enjoys being creative!
This entry was posted in nature, picture a day, travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

