Picture a Day #50 – Something Blue

Blue has always been my favorite color. Ever since I was a child, whenever I had a color choice, I always picked blue. I drifted away for a while toward teal and rose. I considered amethyst. But I remain a steadfast admirer, when push comes to shove, of my original choice.

Perhaps my fondness springs from my fascination with the ocean, or my tendency to gaze at the sky. It’s hard to say which came first, admiration for the color or the things of that color…

So, true to form, I began my watercolor painting with the color blue. Cobalt blue, to be precise. First I soaked the page with my water-filled brush, in even strokes, back and forth and up and down.

Next I filled my brush with paint, trying to remove any globs, and starting at the bottom (or top, depending on your point of view), I painted back and forth from one side of the page to the other. As you can see, I created a Graded Wash as my brush ran out of pigment and the water on the page diluted it.

I haven’t done that in a while. It’s simple but fun! I had taped my paper onto a piece of cardboard with ridges, so I ended up with some interesting texture as well.

Then I tipped the page on its side (notice there is no apostrophe in its; refer to my poem for some insights on apostrophes: http://sunflowerandmoth.wordpress.com/my-poetry/). I let the page drip. I tipped it on the opposite side, and let it drip some more. Here are my results. I wonder what’s next? The possibilities are neverending…it’s (note the apostrophe this time) hard to choose just one!

About Joan Marie Naszady

I am a learner, a teacher, and a naturalist who enjoys being creative!
This entry was posted in art, DIY, picture a day and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Picture a Day #50 – Something Blue

  1. cavepainter says:

    Cobalt blue is nice, but prussian blue is where it’s at. Also it’s a little pricey, but azurite from daniel smith (using real azurite) has a nice texture.

Leave a Reply

