Picture a Day #46 – On Top of the World

Our trip through Rocky Mountain National Park on Trail Ridge Road was a bit chilly for late June. We dropped twenty degrees, from 64F in the Kawuneeche Valley to 44F near the Alpine Visitor Center. Trail Ridge Road is the highest continuous motorway in the US, with over eight miles above 11,000 feet. The maximum elevation along the road is 12,183 feet. We stopped at the Gore Range Overlook, and I photographed the Never Summer Mountains.

I’m adding a photo of me, looking like I could use some shades and a hat! Guess I won’t be modeling outdoor gear anytime soon. I was thrilled to be in such a dramatic location, but the wind was a bit much.

About Joan Marie Naszady

I am a learner, a teacher, and a naturalist who enjoys being creative!
This entry was posted in history, nature, picture a day, travel and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

