Picture a Day #1

For some reason, I find this photo very entertaining. Some say a picture is worth a thousand words. Well, I’m certainly not going to type a thousand words right now, but I will comment on why I find this so interesting.

It reminds me of those posters that tease your visual perception. They show the names of color words in different colors than the name depicts, like the word orange in green letters. What our eyes see doesn’t match what we already know about what we see. We don’t usually say “orange” when we see something that is green.

This is a photo of a train. The sign on the side of the road says, “ROCKS.” It doesn’t say, “Watch out for falling rocks,” or even just “falling rocks.” It doesn’t say,”rocks in the road” or “rocky road” either. I guess now my readers are beginning to salivate and think about the last time they had an ice cream cone.

See how interesting this photo is?

Shouldn’t the sign say, “TRAIN”? I mean that seems logical. I don’t know about you, but I think the train is definitely dominating the scene. The crumbles lying on the edge of the road might be rocks, but we don’t know that for sure unless we walk up to them, and why do we even care? The train is so much more interesting than the rocks, at least in my opinion.

If the train were not around, the sign would still be there, and whoever saw it would probably be on the lookout for rocks if they noticed it. I think that when I took this we were stopped for road work, and I thought taking a picture of the passing train would be better than just sitting there waiting. What do you think?

About Joan Marie Naszady

I am a learner, a teacher, and a naturalist who enjoys being creative!
This entry was posted in picture a day, travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

