I Finished! 50,026 words

This afternoon, I finished the first draft of my first novel. The National Novel Writing Month, sponsored by the Office of Letters and Light in Berkeley, CA motivated me to attempt this feat. My own stubbornness kept me going. And the bonding that I did with my characters is urging me to continue.

Now, while I attempt to edit/rewrite my first novel, I am already plunging onward with the sequel. Why? Well, I want to know what happens next! I think the part I loved best about writing this little book is the fact that, although I had a pretty good idea of the general direction in which I was headed, I had no idea where I would end up after my 50,000 word goal. I found a natural stopping point, and hopefully it will pique my future readers’ curiosity as well.

What happens next could change any number of times as I find my way, and listen to my characters. It’s a lot of fun to watch them grow and change. As well as I know them now, after one hundred and sixty pages, I want to know even more. And I will, doggonnit!

If you have never tried writing something lengthy, I would urge you to. It helped me tremendously to have a deadline. I wrote my word count on a calendar every day, and glared at the numbers. I slowed myself down by editing the first half, and then saw where that was going, so I pushed ahead, trying not to look back too often. Now, I think I need a little rest. Tomorrow is a fresh month, daring me to face the next challenge.

About Joan Marie Naszady

I am a learner, a teacher, and a naturalist who enjoys being creative!
This entry was posted in indoor activities and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

