Onward

It has been nine days since my last post. In those nine days, I have almost doubled my word count in the great NaNoWriMo challenge, the National Novel Writing Month event. But it was slow there for awhile.

I was beginning to panic. My characters were dazed and confused, wandering in too many directions at once. The plot was thinning. I had bonded with them, but I didn’t think to ask them where they wanted to go. They had to thinkĀ about it for a few days. Then they got back to me.

When I woke up this morning, the final destination of my story appeared in the distance. I reached out, grabbed it, and didn’t let go. I worte over 3000 words today, then I got tired.

Not of my story, which is still swimming in my head, but of the telling of it. Time to take a break. I can’t wait to find out what happens next. What fun!

About Joan Marie Naszady

I am a learner, a teacher, and a naturalist who enjoys being creative!
This entry was posted in indoor activities and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Onward

  1. aakross says:

    I love your description of the relationship between your characters. That’s how I feel sometimes when I’m writing. I often let my characters write themselves and that leaves all type of errors in the plot. I might be reading too much into, but the fun of writing does come from seeing your own story unveil. I’m glad that everything worked out in the end. How close are you to your goal?

Leave a Reply

