NaNoWriMo

When I began the National Novel Writing Month project earlier this week, I foolishly thought I would take breaks from my pursuit of lengthy prose by posting on this blog. Ha! Well here I am finally, 6, 072 words later. Only about 4,000 more words to reach the short-term goal of 10,000 words by midnight on Sunday.

So far the ideas and words have been flowing into my Young Adult novel. I psyched myself up for this genre by writing a short story earlier this fall. With my background as a middle school teacher, it seemed like a good fit.

I slowed myself down yesterday doing some research, but a little reading is a good thing. A lot of reading, even better. It’s hard not to get side tracked, because there is so much going on out there that I don’t want to miss!

My writing process is to lay down my ideas, and then go back multiple times to flesh them out. I am trying not to go back to previous chapters, once I have begun the next. Of course there are only two chapters so far, but I typed in the heading for the third chapter to give myself a little encouragement!

My goal is to try to resist too much picky editing along the way. This is much easier said than done. I keep thinking about all the editing I will have to do AFTER November.

Thank you! to the Office of Letters and Light in Berkeley, California (site of my alma mater) for sponsoring this event. You have inspired me to do something that I have put off far too long.

About Joan Marie Naszady

I am a learner, a teacher, and a naturalist who enjoys being creative!
This entry was posted in indoor activities, outdoor activities and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

