National Novel Writing Month

It’s called Nanowrimo, and it happens during the month of November. The challenge is to write 50,000 words in 30 days. The idea is to focus on quantity over quality, in order to get a good start on that novel you never wrote. Tens of thousands  of people participated last year, and many finished. The question is, am I ready for this?

It sounds exciting, but the reality is I have a hard time writing a blog regularly. Sometimes ideas come to me and sometimes they don’t. I type slowly. But my biggest issue is that I spend too much time editing and not enough creating.

I have recently started to discipline myself to write no less than 250 words in each of my blog posts. If I accept the Nanowrimo challenge, I will have to commit to between 1500 and 2000 words a day. At least it’s on the same topic. However, I am not exactly verbose when it comes to my writing.

Put me on the phone, and I could talk for hours. Putting my thoughts on paper is inhibiting. Maybe it’s because I have to see them. If I just kept writing like I talk, and didn’t go back to reread and edit, maybe I would produce more. Hmmm.

This post is almost 250 words now, and I am resisting the urge to start reading it from the beginning and edit. But I will wait until I am finished, and then go back and look at it once. This is my best preparation. Also, an idea for a topic would help. My ideas tend to be short-term. Wouldn’t it be great if I could write 50,000 words on the events of a single day? Wow. That would be either wildly interesting or insanely boring.

About Joan Marie Naszady

I am a learner, a teacher, and a naturalist who enjoys being creative!
This entry was posted in indoor activities, outdoor activities and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to National Novel Writing Month

  1. deanzat says:

    Go for it. If you only get to 40,000 words, you’ll still be in pretty good shape. But it’s true that you have to suppress the urge to edit as you go. As the best writer I know once told me, just barf everything onto the page and wait till it dries before you inspect the chunks.

Leave a Reply

