Ode to the Avocado

I have been a lover of the avocado for as long as I can remember. I was born in the San Gabriel Valley of Southern California, and my earliest memory is of the avocado tree in our yard. I thought only Californians were obsessed with the avocado. Ever heard of the community of Avocado, CA? But this lovely fruit originated in Mexico and was considered a fertility fruit by the Aztecs.

I consider the avocado a true comfort food. This is probably deep-rooted, from early childhood memories of sliced and salted avocado served on a warm day by my mom. Yum! Everyone has their own idea of comfort food. Most of these satisfying treats are high in fat. But the avocado has “healthy” fat, so it must be the best!

About Joan Marie Naszady

I am a learner, a teacher, and a naturalist who enjoys being creative!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

