Runaway

Who among us hasn’t considered running away at some point during their life? I remember one of my siblings packing a suitcase in a moment of childish frustration and marching down the street to the corner of the block. Too young to be allowed to cross the street alone, that was the end of that. But a statement was made, and sometimes that is all that is necessary.

It’s instinctive to either fight or flee when faced with danger, and as a pacifist, I tend to split when things get ugly. Although I am not a shirker, sometimes life overwhelms me, and I find it necessary to take a time out. Three years ago, my husband and I gave ourselves a seven week time out. We drove across the country and back. I have never been so relaxed in my entire life.

It took awhile to get there. Our journey in search of a stress-free life took time. We listened to music. We talked. We camped in a tent and ate hotdogs on a stick. We visited friends and family. We gazed upon the fertile land of this great nation. And when the weather was inclement, we found a motel.

You don’t have to drive across the country to run away from stress. Just open the door and step outside. No need to pack a bag. Breathe deep. Exhale.

About Joan Marie Naszady

I am a learner, a teacher, and a naturalist who enjoys being creative!
This entry was posted in stuff we have to do and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

