Spa Humbug

I had my hair done today. Just the basics: shampoo, cut and blow dry. I have worn my hair in the same basic style for decades. I wouldn’t mind a change. But I have had some traumatic experiences as a result of wishing my hair looked different, so I have given myself permission to be boring.

My first perm was during the summer before my senior year of high school. Never make a drastic change the day before you have your senior photo taken. Enough said.

My second perm was several years later, after the memory of the first perm had faded slightly. I optimistically assumed that it would be different this time. It was, and Little Orphan Annie was my sister’s maid of honor a few days later.

I decided to embrace my somewhat unruly locks, but I have made various attempts to shorten my hair style, with mixed results. Alas, the shoulder-length bob is what works for me. With bangs to the side.

There is so much more available than hair arrangements at the beauty salon these days. It’s hard to find a place that sticks to the basics.¬†With so much washing, waxing, polishing and buffing going on, one might begin to feel more automotive than human.

And now you can not only pierce any part of your anatomy imaginable, but write on it as well. Permanently. And what about the day spa, where you can treat yourself to an overhaul of any type. Whew! It’s exhausting to think about. Not to mention painful.

Thanks, but I’ll just stick to “the usual”.

About Joan Marie Naszady

I am a learner, a teacher, and a naturalist who enjoys being creative!
This entry was posted in stuff we have to do and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

