Washing the Car

I have heard that the best color of paint for a car is white. It is visible on the road and white paint may actually last longer than other paint pigments. Whether or not you believe this, you probably have a favorite color for a car. My last car was red. Before that I owned a white car. The first car that I owned was blue (my favorite color).

Before you assume a patriotic pattern, please allow me to explain. I purchased these vehicles because they were the best choice available at the time that fit within my budget. Some people purchase a car based on the color, and others purchase a car because of other factors that may be more important in their decision-making process.

I never bought a car new until three years ago. My previous purchases had been limited to those with the least mileage that I could afford. This time I knew exactly what I wanted, and told the dealer to find it for me. I wanted a white Subaru. I was annoyed that someone other than myself drove it first, because it happened to be several hours away, but I bought the car that I wanted instead of the best choice that was available. Happy me!

Now I have a white car, and I commute in it. Due to the fact that my commute is on a long and winding road that leads me to dirt and grime, my car is always dirty. I don’t have much time to spend cleaning my car, because of my long commute. What to do?

I could stop complaining and just make a habit of visiting the nearby car wash once a week on the way home. But I have many excuses. I’m too tired/hungry/cold/busy. I don’t have change or cash with me. I just don’t feel like it. The thing about establishing good habits is that the first step is always the hardest.

I admire clean vehicles when I pass them on the road. I like how my car looks when it is clean. I am embarrassed when I notice how filthy it is (particularly next to a clean car). When I’m feeling particularly disgruntled, I will pull out all the stops: I really shouldn’t waste water. It’s probably going to rain anyway.

About Joan Marie Naszady

I am a learner, a teacher, and a naturalist who enjoys being creative!
This entry was posted in outdoor activities and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

