Risk Factors

Risk-taking comes in many forms. Educators encourage students to take risks and challenge themselves. Parents tell their children not to take risks with their safety. Gamblers take risks with their money, and daredevils take risks with their lives. “Acceptable risk” is a term that has always baffled me. Acceptable or not, if your gamble doesn’t pay off you are not going to like it.

When I was a child, I did not like taking any kind of risk. I did not want to give a wrong answer and embarrass myself. I did not want to get hurt. Things haven’t changed that much for me. But if I find myself in an unpleasant situation, I will risk something worse in order to get out if it.

My husband calls this the “green grass syndrome”. I’m absolutely convinced that I can find a better situation than the one I find myself in somewhere else. Fortunately, I haven’t applied this concept to marriage. But I have changed jobs a bit…

Frankly, life is too short to spend it doing something you dislike all day long. In today’s economy, this idea is a big risk. Maybe I’m a gambler after all.

About Joan Marie Naszady

I am a learner, a teacher, and a naturalist who enjoys being creative!
This entry was posted in interpersonal, stuff we have to do and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

