To Do Lists, Math Doodles, and Peas

Sometimes I’m bored when I have a long list of things to do.  The problem is my list has nothing fun on it…Humans tend to avoid uninteresting tasks. So it’s important to include some fun stuff on your To Do list. Sprinkle the fun stuff around, so that you don’t give up after the first few items on your list!

I teach math to middle school students who like to doodle. Some of these doodles are very elaborate and quite good. In order to encourage creativity and math achievement, I recently told a student to do several problems before he made another doodle. This seemed to encourage him.

I grew up in a family with picky eaters. Green peas were a staple but not a favorite among my siblings. I remember my grandmother encouraging one of my brothers by dividing a portion of peas in half and saying, “Eat this much.” Unpleasant tasks may appear easier when they are reduced in size.

There is a lesson here. Boredom is like a pile of green peas left on your otherwise empty plate. If you eat all the good stuff first, there is nothing left to mix with the part you don’t like, and you are left with just the peas. May the new year be full of variety, so you don’t get stuck with a plate full of peas!

About Joan Marie Naszady

I am a learner, a teacher, and a naturalist who enjoys being creative!
This entry was posted in art, home, stuff we have to do and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

