Exploring the Foresthill Divide

Well, I’m patting myself on the back for getting out into the lovely early spring weather over the weekend. Now it is pouring much-needed rain, and the thermometer has plunged thirty degrees. Back to turtleneck weather.

Sierra Crest from Foresthill Road

Sam and I drove out the Foresthill Road from Auburn on Saturday, and ended up at Sugar Pine Reservoir. This is an area that I have had my eye on for many years, and never  got around to investigating.

Sugar Pine Reservoir

Sugar Pine Reservoir

The Foresthill Divide is a long ridge between the North Fork and Middle Fork of the American River, surrounded by the Tahoe National Forest in Placer County, California. I had been nearby in the past, and looked up at the ginormous (an engineering term) bridge that spans the North Fork. It looked scary. But we discovered that you can cross the river near the confluence of the forks at a less intimidating elevation.

Foresthill Bridge sign When we reached Sugar Pine Reservoir, we had a picnic near the boat dock and then we took a short hike along the trail around the lake. Part of it was under construction, but it was dry and we had no trouble. If we had more time we could have walked the 3.5 miles around the lake easily. It was very peaceful so early in the season.

Foresthill Bridge from trail

Foresthill Bridge from trail

We came back to Auburn by way of the higher bridge. I took these photos from the top, and part way down on a trail. Ironically, I have no photos of the river. Next time, I’ll have to take a photo of the view looking up at the bridge. There were dozens of cars along the sides of the road at the confluence-it was a perfect day for river bathing.

Pipevine Swallowtail on lupine

Pipevine Swallowtail on lupine

These swallowtail butterflies were all over the lupine along the side of the road near the bridge. It was a perfect day for every creature.

About J M Naszady

I am an observer of the world around me, a student of nature with the eyes of an artist, and a teacher. My interests have taken me into the water, across the meadow, through the forest, along the cliffs, and up the mountain. My latest journey has plunged me into the virtual world of words and images.
This entry was posted in nature, photography, travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Exploring the Foresthill Divide

  1. Susan says:

    Love the photos of the butterflies, Joan. Can you tell me if you have a macro lens for your close-up pictures? I’ve been thinking of getting one so I can photograph bugs.

    Susan

    • J M Naszady says:

      I love your new website, Susan! I don’t have a macro. I usually use my wide angle lens on closeup work, and then enlarge in Photoshop. I shoot raw. This time I just used my 200x zoom, and I was fairly close.

  2. Joan, your photos are always beautiful. You could be a professional photographer. Have you considered doing a picture book?

    • J M Naszady says:

      Thank you, Jan. Too much competition from photographers out there who have a lot more expertise than I have. I am trying to keep my nose to the grindstone on my novel!

Leave a Reply

