Pollen Pollen Everywhere

My nose knows there is pollen in the air. And what good is pollen without some pollinators? While the wind doth blow, and sprinkle pollen not only on the business end of flowers but everywhere else as well, sometimes it needs a little help. I am always pleased to see bees going about their business, doing their part.

bee two

Every day I check the lavender bush near my front porch for buzzing insects. The bees are always there, busy as, well, you guessed it. Sometimes there is only one, but often there are several. They stand out nicely with their yellow trim against the pale violet flowers.

According to EarthSky, bees don’t see the same colors that we do. Colors look different to them, and they can see ultraviolet light as well. It helps them to find nectar in a flower. Just thought you should know!

bee four

About J M Naszady

I am an observer of the world around me, a student of nature with the eyes of an artist, and a teacher. My interests have taken me into the water, across the meadow, through the forest, along the cliffs, and up the mountain. My latest journey has plunged me into the virtual world of words and images.
This entry was posted in home, nature, photography and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

