The Not-so-plain Oak Titmouse

In honor of the first day of spring, I sketched an Oak Titmouse, formerly know as the Plain Titmouse, from a photo I took last week here in the Sierra Nevada foothills, when the weather was warm and clear. Today it is raining, so I needed to remind myself that the birds in my yard will be back soon.

plain titmouse

This Titmouse is a dull gray bird, but the one that I found hopping around in a bare oak tree was animated and quite charming. It posed for me in an interesting way, so I will celebrate this not-so-boring bird as a harbinger of the season.

I seem to have reduced the size of the noggin of this big-headed bird, and it appears to be smiling a bit in my drawing. Please forgive the artistic license. Chalk it up to a case of Spring Fever.

plain titmouse

About J M Naszady

I am an observer of the world around me, a student of nature with the eyes of an artist, and a teacher. My interests have taken me into the water, across the meadow, through the forest, along the cliffs, and up the mountain. My latest journey has plunged me into the virtual world of words and images.
This entry was posted in art, DIY, home, nature, photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

