What’s So Great About Egrets

The Great Egret is one of my all-time favorite birds. It is both primitive and elegant. Like a giant raptor of ancient times, it rises over its aquatic habitat with majestic dignity and expansive wings. It stands guard at the water’s edge, a silent sentinel in its patient search for food.

egret in flight

I interrupted this bird as I drove past the pond where it was the only visitor. It settled down onto a nearby rock, and when I approached on foot too quickly, it flew away across an adjacent field. It was magnificent in flight!

egret profile

About J M Naszady

I am an observer of the world around me, a student of nature with the eyes of an artist, and a teacher. My interests have taken me into the water, across the meadow, through the forest, along the cliffs, and up the mountain. My latest journey has plunged me into the virtual world of words and images.
This entry was posted in DIY, nature, photography and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to What’s So Great About Egrets

  1. Pingback: Cranes, cranes and red kites in France, photos | Dear Kitty. Some blog

  2. Pingback: Great Egret | A New Day

  3. Pingback: Cranes and hares in France | Dear Kitty. Some blog

  4. Pingback: Great cormorant, great egret | Dear Kitty. Some blog

Leave a Reply

